Skip to Search
Skip to Navigation
Skip to Content

Connecticut’s green industry provides education and research-based recommendations in turf-grass, sustainable landscapes, woody plants and integrated pest management. Connecticut’s green industry currently represents approximately 49% of agricultural sales in the state.

CT Green Industry Programs:

Home & Garden Education Center
The UConn HGEC and its Master Gardener/Advanced Master Gardener, Soil Nutrient Analysis Lab, Plant Diagnostic Lab all provide Connecticut residents, commercial growers and other interested parties with environmentally sustainable answers to their horticultural-related queries.

Integrated Pest Management (IPM)
IPM reduces the dependence of agricultural producers, homeowners and schools on pesticides by using sustainable approaches to managing pests, while maintaining or improving productivity, crop quality and quality of life.  Pesticide Safety education and certification is also offered.

Invasive Plants
The Connecticut Invasive Plant Working Group gathers and conveys information on the presence, distribution, ecological impacts, and management of invasive species.

Landscapes
Landscape architecture involves planning and designing meaningful, memorable and sustainable exterior environments in a variety of scales and settings. UConn Extension offers residental Sustainable Landscapes and Residential Water Quality programs to Connecticut residents as well. Our Turfgrass and Soil Sciences provides programs for the commercial turf manager and provides students with an opportunity to learn all facets of the green industry, including business management.

 

Contacts: CT Green Industry Team

Joan Allen Plant Diagnostics 860-486-6740 joan.allen@uconn.edu
Sarah Bailey State Master Gardener Program Coordinator 860-570-9023 sarah.bailey@uconn.edu
Candace Bartholomew Pesticide Education 860-570-9067 candace.bartholomew@uconn.edu
Mark Brand Commercial Nursery Production 860-486-2930 mark.brand@uconn.edu
Alejandro Chiriboga Nursery IPM 860-486-6585 a.chiriboga@uconn.edu
Donna Ellis Invasive Plants Nursery IPM, IPM Curriculum 860-486-6448 donna.ellis@uconn.edu
Jason Henderson Turfgrass Science 860-486-0189 jason.henderson@uconn.edu
Judith Hsiang Master Gardener - New Haven County 203-407-3167 judith.hsiang@uconn.edu
John Inguagiato Turf Pathology 860-486-0162 john.inguagiato@uconn.edu
Yulia Kuzovkina-Eischen Ornamental Horticulture 860-486-3438 jkuzovkina@uconn.edu
Deborah Lee Master Gardener - Windham County 860-774-9600 deborah.2.lee@uconn.edu
Ana Legrand Entomology, IPM 860-486-0869 ana.legrand@uconn.edu
David Lewis Master Gardener - Litchfield County 860-626-6240 david.lewis@uconn.edu
Jessica Lubell-Brand Horticulture, Plant Science 860-486-1487 jessica.lubell@uconn.edu
Jean Madden-Hennessey Master Gardener - Tolland County 860-870-6934 Jean.Madden-Hennessey@uconn.edu
Richard McAvoy Greenhouse Production 860-486-0627 richard.mcavoy@uconn.edu
Thomas Morris Soil Science 860-486-0637 thomas.morris@uconn.edu
Leanne Pundt Commercial Greenhouse Production 860-626-6240 leanne.pundt@uconn.edu
Carol Quish Consumer Horticulture 860-486-3437 carol.quish@uconn.edu
Steven Rackliffe Turfgrass Science 860-486-1944 steven.rackliffe@uconn.edu
Rosa Raudales Greenhouse Production 860-486-6043 rosa.raudales@uconn.edu
Gail Reynolds Master Gardener - Middlesex County 860-345-5234 gail.reynolds@uconn.edu
Carl Salsedo Residential Landscapes 860-570-9060 carl.salsedo@uconn.edu
Victoria Wallace Commercial Landscape/Turf 860-885-2826 victoria.wallace@uconn.edu
UConn Extension
University of Connecticut,
College of Agriculture, Health and Natural Resources
1376 Storrs Road, Unit 4036
Storrs, Connecticut 06269-4036
Phone: 860-486-9228
Fax: 860-486-0264