Skip to Search
Skip to Navigation
Skip to Content

UConn Extension provides families and communities with programs that teach Connecticut residents how to lead healthy, productive and financially secure lives.

Families & Community Development Programs:

Family and Personal Financial Education
Workshops for adults and professionals teach important topics such as developing spending plans or family budgets, setting and achieving financial goals, money management, saving, managing credit and debt, family communication about money and other topics.

Community & Economic Development
UConn’s programs in Community & Economic Development respond to local needs and opportunities.  Programs are often developed and delivered in partnership with participants and “stakeholders” – organizations, individuals, and agencies with a stake in the existence and content of programs and the resources that support these programs.  Target audiences for Community & Economic Development programs include local government officials, economic development professionals, other public officials, the wide array of other local leaders, small businesses and industries, community-based organizations, and the general public. Community & Economic Development Educators foster partnerships that link the University to local stakeholders, government agencies, businesses, and organizations to help create vibrant and sustainable communities.

Healthy Environments: Home and Community
UConn Extension develops educational programs to help adults and children protect and improve their health as it relates to their environments—in their homes, their schools, and elsewhere. The Healthy Environments for Children Initiative (HEC)  develops educational programs to help adults and children protect and improve their health by managing key environmental factors. Our water resources program is designed to help residents understand the impact of individual practices on Connecticut’s water resources.

Visit the National Healthy Homes Partnership for more resources.

Personal Development
People Empowering People (PEP) is a personal, family and leadership development program with a strong community focus. PEP builds on the strengths and life experiences of participants and emphasizes the connection between individual and community action.

Youth Internet Masters (YIM) was designed by UConn Extension for young students (middle to high school). This curriculum teaches web page design using HTML 4.01. 

Contacts: Families & Community Development Team

Joan Bothell Healthy Environments for Children 860-570-9068 joan.bothell@uconn.edu
Laura Brown Community Economic Development 203-207-0063 laura.brown@uconn.edu
Denis Coble Allied Health, Cancer Prevention 860-486-0014 denis.coble@uconn.edu
German Cutz Sustainable Families, Youth Internet Masters 203-207-3267 german.cutz@uconn.edu
Pouran Faghri Health Promotion Disease & Disability Program 860-486-0018 pouran.faghri@uconn.edu
Karen Filchak Residential Environmental and Water Quality  860-774-9600 karen.filchak@uconn.edu
Mary-Margaret Gaudio Healthy Environments for Children 860-570-9072 mmgaudio@uconn.edu
Faye Griffiths-Smith Family Economics 203-407-3160 faye.griffiths-smith@uconn.edu
Cathleen Love Family and Consumer Sciences, People Empowering People (PEP) 860-486-9081 cathleen.love@uconn.edu
Mary Welch Family and Consumer Sciences 860-885-2829 mary.welch@uconn.edu
UConn Extension
University of Connecticut,
College of Agriculture, Health and Natural Resources
1376 Storrs Road, Unit 4036
Storrs, Connecticut 06269-4036
Phone: 860-486-9228
Fax: 860-486-0264