Skip to Search
Skip to Navigation
Skip to Content

Connecticut citizens and the environment impact each other every day. UConn Extension helps people gain the knowledge needed to help protect, preserve, conserve and restore the state’s environment and natural resources. Outreach and education programs are offered to various audiences in: land use, water, resource restoration, forestry, tree wardens, geospatial information, fisheries and wildlife and atmospheric resources.

Land Use & Water Programs:

CLEAR
UConn Extension, in partnership with the Department of Natural Resources and the Environment and the Connecticut Sea Grant College Program, established the Center for Land Use Education and Research (CLEAR) in 2002. CLEAR is comprised of 6 award-winning outreach and research programs, each focused on providing information, education, technical tools and other assistance to Connecticut communities.  The focus of CLEAR programs is on protecting natural resources while accommodating economic growth. Programs include: CT NEMO, National NEMO Network, Land Use Academy, Geospatial Training, Forestry, and LERIS.

CT Sea Grant
Connecticut Sea Grant works toward achieving healthy coastal and marine ecosystems and consequent public benefits by supporting integrated locally and nationally relevant research, outreach and education programs in partnership with stakeholders. Our aquaculture program also provides courses for the marine aquaculture industry in Connecticut and the Northeast on environmental, social and economic aspects of aquaculture.

Forestry
Connecticut’s trees and forests provide essential economic, social and environmental benefits every day. UConn Extension’s Forestry program delivers educational programs, products, and research for town and city officials, tree wardens, community volunteers, public and private resource managers, forest products producers and private woodland owners.  Extension educators actively work with our partners to improve the health, management and productivity of the state’s forest resource.

 

 

Contacts: Land Use & Water Team

John Alexopoulos Plant Science  & Landscape Architecture 860-486-1941 john.alexopoulos@uconn.edu
Chester Arnold Water Resources Management, CLEAR 860-345-5230 chester.arnold@uconn.edu
Nancy Balcom Seafood Safety & Fisheries 860-405-9107 nancy.balcom@uconn.edu
Juliana Barrett Beaches & Dunes, Coastal Habitat Management, Climate Change 860-405-9106 juliana.barrett@uconn.edu
Kara Bonsack Center For Land Use Education and Research Communications 860-345-5227 kara.bonsack@uconn.edu
Cary Chadwick Geospatial Technologies and Training 860-345-5216 cary.chadwick@uconn.edu
John Clausen Natural Resources 860-486-0139 john.clausen@uconn.edu
David Dickson Water Resources Management, National NEMO Coordinator 860-345-5228 david.dickson@uconn.edu
Michael Dietz Water Resources Management, CT NEMO Coordinator 860-345-5225 michael.dietz@uconn.edu
Bruce Hyde Land Use Planning 860-345-5229 bruce.hyde@uconn.edu
Thomas Meyer Natural Resources 860-486-0145 thomas.meyer@uconn.edu
Angie Harris Agricultural Water Security 860-486-7176 angie@uconn.edu
Michael O'Neill Water Quality 860-486-6270 mp.oneill@uconn.edu
Morty Ortega Wildlife 860-486-0161 morty.ortega@uconn.edu
Robert Ricard Human Dimensions of Natural Resources 860-570-9257 robert.ricard@uconn.edu
Kristin Schwab Plant Science  & Landscape Architecture 860-486-1947 kristin.schwab@uconn.edu
Jason Vokoun Fisheries 860-486-0141 jason.vokoun@uconn.edu
John Volin Ecosystems 860-486-2840 john.volin@uconn.edu
Victoria Wallace Commercial Landscape/Turf 860-885-2826 victoria.wallace@uconn.edu
Glenn Warner Water Resources 860-486-0140 glenn.warner@uconn.edu
Emily Wilson Geospatial Technologies 860-345-5226 emily.wilson@uconn.edu
Thomas Worthley Forest Management and Stewardship 860-345-5232 thomas.worthley@uconn.edu
UConn Extension
University of Connecticut,
College of Agriculture, Health and Natural Resources
1376 Storrs Road, Unit 4036
Storrs, Connecticut 06269-4036
Phone: 860-486-9228
Fax: 860-486-0264