Skip to Search
Skip to Navigation
Skip to Content

Our food and nutrition programs offer workshops to help families and children learn how to plan meals, prepare food for better nutrition and food safety and save money at the grocery store.

Nutrition & Wellness Programs:

Nutrition Education
Nutrition education and resources about healthy eating are available for families and youth. Educators provide curriculum to agency staff who can deliver programs directly to their own clientele as well as offering workshops directly to the public.

Expanded Food and Nutrition Education Program (EFNEP)
Through a series of hands-on, interactive workshops, EFNEP participants gain practical knowledge and skills to help them improve food choices for better health and quality of life.  EFNEP programs are for low-income participants and primarily geared toward pregnant and nursing women, families and youth. 

Sports and Nutrition
Sports and Nutrition is a summer program that works with children, youth and adults to reduce obesity and improve dietary habits.

Food Safety
The CDC estimates that each year roughly 48 million people get sick; 128,000 are hospitalized; and 3,000 die of foodborne illness. The safety of Connecticut’s food supply is the responsibility of all who grow, process, sell, prepare and eat food. UConn Extension helps Connecticut residents find the food safety information and resources they need to help them produce and prepare safer food.

Contacts: Nutrition & Wellness Team

Erica Benvenuti EFNEP - New London County 860-885-2825 erica.benvenuti@uconn.edu
Angela Caldera EFNEP - Hartford County 860-570-9063 angela.caldera@uconn.edu
Valerie Duffy Nutrition 860-486-1997 valerie.duffy@uconn.edu
Tina Dugdale Alllied Health and Nutrition 860-306-0228 tina.dugdale@uconn.edu
Toni Ellis EFNEP - New Haven County 203-407-3171 toni.ellis@uconn.edu
Sharon Gray EFNEP - Hartford County 860-570-9061 sharon.gray@uconn.edu
Diane Wright Hirsch Food Safety 203-407-3163 diane.hirsch@uconn.edu
Jane Kerstetter Nutritional Sciences 860-486-1996 jane.kerstetter@uconn.edu
Sung Koo Nutritional Sciences 860-486-3495 sung.koo@uconn.edu
Doris Little EFNEP - New Haven County 203-407-3172 doris.little@uconn.edu
Heather Pease EFNEP - Hartford County 860-570-9065 heather.pease@uconn.edu
Heather Peracchio EFNEP - Fairfield County 203-207-3266 heather.peracchio@uconn.edu
Michael Puglisi Expanded Food & Nutrition Education Program (EFNEP) Director 860-486-1198 michael.puglisi@uconn.edu
Diane Schuler SNAP-Ed Food Security 860-885-2828 diane.schuler@uconn.edu
Umekia Taylor EFNEP - New Haven County, 4-H FANs 203-407-3169 umekia.taylor@uconn.edu
Dianisi Torres EFNEP - Windham County 860-774-9600 dianisi.torres@uconn.edu
Zoraida Velazquez EFNEP - New Haven County 203-407-3170 zoraida.velazquez@uconn.edu
UConn Extension
University of Connecticut,
College of Agriculture, Health and Natural Resources
1376 Storrs Road, Unit 4036
Storrs, Connecticut 06269-4036
Phone: 860-486-9228
Fax: 860-486-0264